Bridge Fabrication

Non-Destructive Testing – Hardness Testing

Hardness Test

Telebrinneller Indication

What is hardness testing?

Hardness is described as the resistance of a material to deformation, usually indentation. There are many different types of this test, and each use a different form of tool to create a deformation in the material being tested. Some of the common types are the Rockwell hardness test, Brinell hardness test, Vickers hardness test, and Knoop hardness test. Each of these methods has its own set of scales and calibration/set up specifications based on what material is being tested.

Rockwell uses a diamond tipped cone, and applies a load onto it forcing it into the test object.   After the load is applied, the depth of the indentation that occurs is measured and the hardness number can be read from a scale. In Brinell, a small sphere is used instead, and the diameter of the deformation that occurs is measured and used in an equation to calculate the hardness. Usually Brinell hardness tests are performed more than once to insure the greatest accuracy possible. Also due to the human errors that are possible when taking the measurements, the hardness number is often given as a range of values as well. Vickers and Knoop both use diamond shaped indenters, and are similar to the Rockwell method

Here at AXIS we are able to do a number a types of Hardness testing including Telebrinneller testing. If we can assist you with any of your quality requirements, please contact us for more information.

For Links to previous Non-Destructive Testing Blogs

Ultrasonic Testing

Penetrant Testing

X-Ray Fluorescence

Ferrite Testing

Magnetic Particle Testing


Until Next week.

Bonnie Pankratz